Exclusive INDYCAR Nation News

2012 Fan Favorite Awards: The Drivers Respond

Zachary Houghton
| Dec 16, 2012

Recently, the results were announced for the 2012 edition of INDYCAR’s Favorite Driver Fan Survey. Again, many of the categories were extremely close throughout the ranks of INDYCAR’s ladders, with only a few percentage points separating the winners from their nearest competitors.

In USF2000, Pabst Racing Services’ Shannon McIntosh won Most Popular Driver, after narrowly missing the same honor in 2011. The second-year Mazda Road to Indy driver offered her thoughts on the award.

“I am so humbled to be the 'favorite driver' from the USF2000 series this year,” enthused McIntosh. “INDYCAR fans are extremely dedicated and I feel so lucky to have such an honor. Racing fans are the best in the sports world and it is very motivating to me that I have their support. "

McIntosh went on to mention her philosophy in regards to fan interaction.

“It has always been very important to me to interact and have a relationship with my fans. It is crucial in my mind that race fans know drivers care because without their support, I can't race!”

While McIntosh might have claimed the USF2000 prize, Andretti Autosport’s stable of drivers would have much to say about the rest of the proceedings. The Star Mazda Series saw Andretti  driver Zach Veach take home the fan favorite title, after winning the previous year’s USF2000 honor. Veach, fresh off announcing his promotion to Firestone Indy Lights in 2013, kept riding his string of good news.

“Being named most popular driver for a second year in a row is just incredible,” affirmed Veach. “I turn 18 pretty soon and I feel as though this is just the best birthday present. I’m so lucky to have such a supportive fan base and I’m so thankful for all of the votes.”

The Andretti Autosport tidal wave continued in Firestone Indy Lights, where Sebastian Saavedra won a tight contest over Lights champion Tristan Vautier and USAC champ/Indy 500 entrant/Indy Lights driver Bryan Clauson. When reached for comment, Saavedra was quick to thank the fans.

“It is great feeling the support we get from fans during the off season,” Saavedra stated. “They've been amazing all year around and this gives me a great boost of motivation to keep giving them amazing moments to remember. I want to thank everyone that voted and for keeping in touch with everything that's going on around the IndyCar world. Big things are coming and I'm sure you are all going to love it. Thank you again!”

In the IZOD IndyCar Series, the charismatic Canadian star James Hinchcliffe managed to secure the hat trick for Andretti, squeaking by perennially popular driver Simona de Silvestro to grab the title of the Most Popular IICS driver. “The Mayor” was his normal genial self in his statement.

“First, I get elected Mayor, then I got on the Go Daddy homepage and now I'm the fan's favorite,” Hinch recounted. “It's been a great year and I can't wait to get back on the track in 2013 and keep it up. But the fans are what it's really all about. I was a fan once, and still am, so to be picked by them is really special.”

Congratulations to all the winners of this year’s Favorite Driver Award here at INDYCAR Nation. We wish them the best in 2013, and apparently the fans do, too!


Zachary Houghton runs indycaradvocate.com, which features regularly-updated INDYCAR, IZOD IndyCar Series, and Mazda Road to Indy interviews, commentary, and more. You can find him on Twitter at @indycaradvocate.


  1. 1 Build My List 07 Nov
    if all webmasters and bloggers made good content material as you did, the internet can be a lot more useful than ever before.
  2. 2 fan page liker 21 Oct

    The information you
    have posted is very useful. The sites you have referred was good. Thanks for
    hack view youtube
  3. 3 roofing companies 13 Oct
     It’s the end of Batgirl’s first year as a member of the Bat-family, and
    the stakes couldn’t be higher! Stephanie Brown must risk her life to
    break into the 
  4. 4 AsharSeo 12 Oct
    It's been 4 years of Green Savouree promoting the race and it has yet
    to  bring a crowd that comes close to the crowds of the Molson Indy


    sydney seo


  5. 5 facebook photo auto liker 08 Oct
    Pretty good post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I

    have really enjoyed reading your blog posts. Any way I'll be

    subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon. Big thanks for

    the useful info.
    facebook photo auto liker
    youtube view booster
  6. 6 Free CS GO skins 11 Sep

    Stunning offer, I like your structure for posting - uncommon thing to learn and read! Thankful to you for such amazing things! In like route look to free cs go skins

  7. 7 Law Firm Marketing 01 Jul

    Nevertheless this
    is our new we tend to hop on over. I stumbled upon a considerable amount of
    interesting important things ınside your blog, primarily its talk. In your a
    considerable amount of comments on your articles and reviews, Perhaps So i am
    never by themselves buying the different free time what follows! Remain
    typically the terrific characteristic.
  8. 8 http://antlerxreviews.com/ 01 Jul

    You understood as
    well as prove to be just a few dull or boring unwanted print, it also given
    out meant for my own timeframe. I most certainly will print a web link for
    this purpose internet page for my own site. More than likely my own targeted
    visitors will see which inturn worth your time.
  9. 9 HUBERT 30 Jun

    hack like facebook I have to tell you, Document reckoned this is a reasonably unique look at in the case of this approach question. Beloved all the cloth... twitter followers free
  10. 10 howtodebtnegotiation.com 25 Jun

    As i moreover enjoy
    discovering that testing, though learn about which will a whole bunch of many
    people should really stick to article in an attempt to combine worthwhile
    closer to that unique site give off.
  11. 11 new year 2016 06 Jun
    Mostly i really happy to find this informative topic shared here,
    looking forward for more information, i am happy to find this article
  12. 12 ireaw 30 Mar
    I discovered twin hot essay writer that are every race by couple authors entirely. I do nay distinguish what the provisos are for holding an dissertation writing website however isn’t this an wanting cipher? I would sense safer if they had a bigger club active on compositions.

You are not allowed to post comments.